July Check In

So far July has been an interesting & positive month. Things are happening! I’ve been busy, which I prefer! Here are some of highlights (& maybe a couple low points):

  • July 1st marked what could have been one of the low points. My family went out to celebrate my brother’s birthday & had one of the most terrible meals ever. 8 of us had to cram around a tiny little table because the restaurant only had small tables & wouldn’t let us combine any. The music was super loud. & we found hairs in 2 meals (mine & my boyfriend’s). & to top it all off, the restaurant didn’t discount or take anything off the bill. It could have been a really terrible experience but I think it actually goes down as a funny anecdote. My grandma & I kept looking at each other across the table & laughing. Afterwards, we went to my grandparents’ house (as usual) for cake & presents & in keeping with the theme of the night, the power went out due to a bad storm. Memories were made & it is one of those dinners that will go down in history.
  • On July 3rd, I attended a picnic with my Toastmasters club. Normally Toastmasters is a pretty formal club & we don’t necessarily socialize very much, so I always enjoy when we do. Its not Toastmasters without speeches, though, & we heard a particularly great speech from member Kristy.
  • July 4th is not just America’s birthday, but also my brother’s! Most years we have his celebration on that day, but this year we had it later in the week. Instead, my boyfriend & I attended a picnic at his aunt’s house. We had a great time!
  • On July 6th, (I promise I’m not telling about every day this month!) I helped cater a retirement party clam bake. It was really hot & kindof uncomfortable, honestly. The clients had an ice cream truck come though, which was neat!
  • July 10th & 11th marked some great beginnings & getting back to some of my roots. I attended a volunteer orientation for the local hospital. I’m very excited to start there (tomorrow actually!), but more on that in a little bit. The 11th was a busy day for me. I went on my first shopping trip as part of the Red Cross shoppers program. As part of the shoppers program, I grocery shop for house bound clients. It felt good to help & my client was so appreciative! After shopping, I was off to help run the finish line for the runner’s club. I had missed the running community. It was a great way to spend the day.
  • The next day was just as busy! My brother was lucky enough to win season passes to a concert venue about 2 hours away from us. One of the shows that was included was Victoria Justice & Big Time Rush. He decided to take my 8 year old sister & I tagged along. We had a lot of fun. She slept over at my house after too, which she hadn’t done before. In the morning, we all went to a festival downtown for a little bit, until I had to go into work to cater a wedding. All in all I had a great time with my siblings.
  • On July 15th, I went to a local minor league baseball game with some fellow employees & my boyfriend. It was the first one we had been to of the summer & sweltering. We did get some nice breezes sometimes though, & it was good to spend some time outside doing something a little different.
  • I had an appointment with what I like to think of as the hospital volunteer guidance counselor on the 16th. I felt like I got a lot of out the appointment, besides just my placement. I am going to be volunteering in the retail pharmacy (using my pharmacy background) one day and on a patient care floor the other day. Part of me is excited to go back to my pharmacy roots. I’m most excited to get new experiences on the patient floor, however. Honestly, I would love to work at this hospital, if the whole food service & catering thing doesn’t work out. Well, actually the food service is what’s supposed to be the fall back.
  • The last few days have been busy with work. I worked for 3 different accounts, doing 3 different kinds of things with varying hours. I like the variety though.

    Oh& big news! My boyfriend’s baby nephew was born on Thursday July 18. Still waiting excitedly to meet him!
     

Leave a Reply

