Running Plans for 2014

My biggest goal & focus for this year is getting healthier & more fit.  Running has always been my exercise of choice, even though haven’t always been regular at it.  This year I have plans that I will be able to stick which will help me become a better runner.  They are as follows:

  • Team Confluence– In November of last year (just a few months ago) I applied to be a member of my local running store’s promotional team, Team Confluence.  I didn’t really think I would get selected to be on it, but I thought I’d try anyway.  I did actually get selected to be a part of the team, which I’m really excited about.  We had our first meeting on Sunday & I’m super excited about this team.  We have such cool plans for running support in our community.
  • Binghamton Bridge Run– My local half marathon, my main running goal for this year.  This will be the 3rd year the city has had the half marathon.  I was never able to run it before due to work & overall not being ready to commit to it.  This year I am really excited to be able to run it. I’m even participating in a training plan with Confluence Running.  The support will be a big help to me with the training.   This is the biggest race that I’ve committed to so far this year & it is in May.

I’m slightly concerned about hitting a running wall after the Bridge Run because that is what happened after I ran my marathon in 2009.  This time will be different, though because I will schedule more big races after that (I just haven’t decided what they are yet).  In the meantime, I have 2 more year long goals that I’ve committed to:

  • 14 in 14– I found this nifty little challenge via twitter.  The goal is as simple as it looks, run 14 races in 2014.   This should be an easy one, there is pretty much at least a 5k every week in my area.

MixedButton

  • Run this year– I found this challenge on twitter, also.  To complete this one, you can run the year in miles (2014 miles) or kilometers (2014 km = 1251.4 miles).  I was a little daunted by the miles challenge, so I am pledging to run the year in kms.  It looks like it will end up being around 24 miles a week.

run this year

With these 2 extra challenges, I feel like am in going to be in a good position to keep my running goals for the year.

2 thoughts on “Running Plans for 2014

Leave a Reply

